Certificate roadmap for networking security?

qngu8827qngu8827 Registered Users Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello. I am a college student who is very interested in doing network security/CEH. I will began my Networking Admin A.S and CCNA cert in the upcoming spring. However, my research is confusing beyond that point and I would like to ask you all for your professional opinions. I’m planning to continue my learning after achieving my networking admin degree. What I have found and considering are; CCNP, CompTIA A+, CompTIA Security+, and another A.S in networking forensic. Beside those mentioned, I also have access to classes, such as WMware managing, EMC info storage and management, cloud infrastructure and service, Citrix – virtual desktop/application admin, Oracle database admin, NET programming, Linux/UNIX admin, wireless networking, IP and VoIP implementation, and of course certificates from Window. Overall, which of these courses pertain to my end goal? Should I also learn to code (c++, Java, ruby, or python)? I understand that experience is the major commodity in the industry, however, I want to optimize my schooling so that I could potentially be utilize in more positions than just helpdesk. Thank you for the insight, your input is much appreciated.

Comments

• IIIMasterIIIMaster Member Posts: 238 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Gaining linux, windows server, esxi, and cisco rs & voice exposure is huge, especially if you could gain those certs. I have not dealt with citrix besides utilizing their applications at work but im sure it can only help you. I would stay away from the wireless course.
  • NOC-NinjaNOC-Ninja Member Posts: 1,403
    One thing i realize is that you need all of it to connect the dots. I have bumped into CISSP certified guys that cannot create a security plan since they dont know how the network, VM, wireless, OS and etc works. Everything will catch up.