Options

Five Years In - Lessons I Learned

the_Grinchthe_Grinch Member Posts: 4,165 ■■■■■■■■■■
I was thinking about it last night and I realized I've been working in IT for five years now (six in June). Along the way I learned quite a lot and thought perhaps it will help some of the people making their break into the industry.

Experience trumps all - a degree and a few certs is just not enough to get in this field most of the time. Any experience is better then none.

You'll be on helpdesk, accept it and deal with it - I got out thinking I'd never touch the helpdesk and that seriously hurt me. You'll wind up on the helpdesk so accept that then press on.

If you have no plan, you are planning to fail (Ben Franklin) - I see it all the time, people start a project with no plan what so ever. These projects tend to never end and are complete disasters. Setup a plan, allot for changes along the way, and you will be golden. Nothing ever goes according to the plan, but if you think like a lawyer you'll be able to see some of the potential roadblocks.

Speak up - I've seen it too often in IT. No one wants to rock the boat and speak up when they see issues. There's always a correct way to say whatever you need to say so that it is received. And if they don't heed the warning at least you said something.

Acknowledge when you don't know something - There is nothing wrong with not knowing everything. People respect you when you say you're not versed in some technology. I tend to say I don't know it now, but I can figure it out.
WIP:
PHP
Kotlin
Intro to Discrete Math
Programming Languages
Work stuff

Comments

• Options
    Techguru365Techguru365 Member Posts: 131 ■■■□□□□□□□
    very sound advice
  • Options
    coffeeluvrcoffeeluvr Member Posts: 734 ■■■■■□□□□□
    That is great advice! Thanks for taking the time to share this.
    "Something feels funny, I must be thinking too hard. - Pooh"
  • Options
    N2ITN2IT Inactive Imported Users Posts: 7,483 ■■■■■■■■■■