Options

OSCP and Other Certifications

harcos90harcos90 Member Posts: 6 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello All,
This is my first time posting on this website, though I have been lurking for the last month to get some information on certifications. I am currently a Web Application Developer who would like to transition into IT Security. I do not have work experience in the field, however I did get my minor in Security Risk Analysis which focused on Network Security. One of my other goals is to eventually apply to the FBI under their Cyber focus.

Where I am currently working has stated that they would pay for an OSCP class and certification as part of their tuition reimbursement program. However, looking at the current job application posted on the FBI's website for a Sepcial Agent with a Cyber focus www.usajobs.gov/GetJob/ViewDetails/389051400, it would appear that that certification is not included in any of the 3 Tiers of certs they are looking for. I would like to get one of the tier 1 certifications as that would remove one year of the work experience requirement, and would allow me to apply for that position any time it is posted after October of this year as I would then have 2 yrs experience + a tier one certification. From what I have read the application process can take a while, so I would like to begin that as soon as possible (this way if I am not a suitable candidate I can adjust my career goals accordingly asap).

With all of this in mind, do you think that A) OSCP certification would be good to pursue? And B) Does the training from this certification prepare me to take any of the tier one certification's tests without much additional studying?

Comments

• Options
    xXxKrisxXxxXxKrisxXx Member Posts: 80 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Welcome Harcos90,

I do Web Development also as my day job and eventually plan on transitioning toward Security.