Company is willing to pay for training in small amounts... thoughts?

Bacon_00Bacon_00 Member Posts: 24 ■□□□□□□□□□
My company has offered to pay for training for me, however my boss will need to "sneak it in" to other expenses. He said $300-$500 "here and there" is probably about the max.

I wanted to take an MCSA bootcamp, but those cost about $5k lump-sum and are out of the question. I've looked for other classes, and they run around $2-3k.

The best idea I have right now is to have them bankroll self-study materials, but I've never really taken to self-study like some. I'm a good student in school, but I really struggle with motivating myself to self-study. I passed my CCENT with self-study, but it was quite a slog and I disliked it. I was unemployed at the time, too, so now with a full-time job (and a baby on the way!) I just don't see it being a path to success. I could probably force myself to do it, but I'm afraid of burning out.

Any ideas how I can get MCSA training that isn't these $2-3k crash-courses? Something that offers classes over a longer period of time and spreads out the expense?

Thanks a bunch!

Comments

• ajs1976ajs1976 Member Posts: 1,945 ■■■■□□□□□□
    look into Pluralsight and CBTNuggets. I think both have a monthly subscription option.
    Andy

2020 Goals: 0 of 2 courses complete, 0 of 2 exams complete
  • Bacon_00Bacon_00 Member Posts: 24 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Just thought of CBTNuggets -- that might be perfect. I know you can't pass the test on those alone, but CBT + a couple books + practice tests would probably be sufficient (from what I'm reading on here). I also have access to set up however many test/lab machines I want at work to mess around with stuff, which is a big plus.
  • DeathmageDeathmage Banned Posts: 2,496
    Bacon_00 wrote: »