Just a week ago

DntH8MeDntH8Me Member Posts: 73 ■■■□□□□□□□
Just a week ago I thought studying for the Linux+ was a great idea, then I find out that the materials that I just purchased will expire in June.
I passed the Sec+ at the end of Dec and then ordered the Sybex book to start studying for the Linux+. Now they have announced that the old exam will expire in June I was thinking should I keep studying with the material that I have or back track and study for the Network+ until new materials come out for the Linux+. The reason I'm thinking this is because I don't know how realistic it is to go from cold to passing both exams by June. With the Network+ I would think some of the information would overlap what I just finished studying for the Sec+.

I'm not a complete newbie with Linux although I'm far from a guru. Other than the laptop my wife uses every pc in my house is powered by Linux. Some are deb based some are rpm, so I'm not distribution biased. I run a headless media server but my comfort in the command line is based around my personal needs, so as I read the study book I have both a sense of familiarity and obscurity.

Just this morning I woke up and looked over at a N10-005 book that has not been utilized and thought maybe I should at least get other opinions on this and not just rely on my own scatter brain ideas icon_rolleyes.gif
2019 Certification Goals: ​CEH | PenText + | CISM? | stop procrastinating

Comments

• 5ekurity5ekurity Member Posts: 346 ■■■□□□□□□□
    It's entirely possible to pass in that time frame - you just need to commit to yourself that you are going to accomplish your goals of getting it done. If you already have some working knowledge with Linux, you're at least 1/4 of the way there - it's more about memorizing locations of things, different options / flags, what different configs do, etc. The exams don't get completely in the weeds, so you don't need to worry about building out a Linux architecture.