Options

No Professional IT Background - will WGU still be good?

YarbsYarbs Registered Users Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
Morning all,

I've spent the last week perusing the forums here and other places looking into WGU. I have a hard time getting settled into the normal online class curriculum, and speaking with an enrollment counselor at WGU makes me think it'd be a better fit for me.

My concern is, I have no professional IT background. The curriculum at WGU seems geared towards people who already know it, or at least are somewhat aware of it. I have basic knowledge from personal use, configuring desktops (haven't bought a preassembled one in 10+ years) and troubleshooting. I did a short stint with Apple as a Mac technical adviser. But that's about it.

I don't have an AA/AS/AAS in IT so I planned on taking the A+ exam to satisfy enrollment guidelines, and bought the Mike Meyers 1500 page monster. Haven't started reading it yet... I have a couple semesters of Gen Ed classes under my belt, and about 40 military service school credits in an unrelated discipline (so those are pretty well useless at WGU).

I'm considering the BSIT-Sec from WGU or the BS Computer Networks and Security / Cybersecurity from UMUC at this time. I plan on staying in the Federal sector if I can, though it looks like I'd take a paycut from my current position to switch to an IT position.

I'm a quick learner, and I like to do it independently which is what attracted me to WGU. I just don't know if I'm going to be able to hack it, since I don't have any prior knowledge. I'd like to start a career in Network Security and move up from there, but looking at these boards it seems like most people start in a help desk type role which would be a rather massive paycut for me (to the tune of $35K+/yr depending on the area...).