new member & career change

shocktattooershocktattooer Member Posts: 19 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hey all, I'm a middle aged guy (42) from Ga who just found out that my airline job of 22 years is about to be outsourced so I'm starting on my IT certifications and hoping to make a career change. I've been doing tech work on the side since the days of the AMD386 so I'm pretty well versed with building and repairing systems. I also have some experience with Linux, built a few systems just to mess around with, the latest one being a media server running ubuntu and plex that I built from some parts I had laying around. I've built websites, leased server space for resale, c-panel, some SQL and general admin associated with maintaining web servers. But till now it's pretty much all been self taught.

I'm not really sure which area I want to focus on, I'm thinking maybe something along the lines of networking or sysadmin. I just picked up the Mike Meyers A+ and network+ books and have been going through the professor messer videos as well as doing A+ practice exams. Ive pretty much got the 801 section down but memorizing the 802 info is pretty frustrating. Any tips for that section? just repetition and committing it to memory?

I'm also considering doing the linux+ certification after these two but I'm not sure if it would just be a waste at this point.

What are the job prospects for someone my age getting started in IT? I dont have a college degree, I went to college for my AAS as a Commercial Pilot and dropped out a few credits short of my degree but that was 15 yrs ago. The closest metro area to me is Jacksonville, Fl. about 30-45 south.

Thanks in advance for any advice.

Comments

• Jon_CiscoJon_Cisco Member Posts: 1,772 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Sorry to hear about the airline job. I'm in printing and feeling a similar need to change careers.