Options

Windows server or CCNA security

ClapDemCheeksClapDemCheeks Member Posts: 77 ■■□□□□□□□□
I have a dilemma regarding on my next career step. I am currently doing support for a financial firm and i am trying to decided if i should study for Windows administration or continue the networking route (i already have the CCNA). I work with Active Directory more then i do with Networks, but i like Networking more than windows stuff.

Comments

• Options
    snunez889snunez889 Member Posts: 238 ■■■□□□□□□□
    I was in the same boat. I had my heart set on networking(still do) but work more with servers. I am studying for the MCSA currently, reason being I work with servers right now and having that knowledge will only benefit me. I still hope to end up in more of a networking role. At the end of the day having knowledge in both area will only help you, so why not study for windows administration while you have exposure to it.
  • Options
    ClapDemCheeksClapDemCheeks Member Posts: 77 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Because if i study for windows admin and get a networking role then i will forget what i learned about windows admin.
  • Options
    N2ITN2IT Inactive Imported Users Posts: 7,483 ■■■■■■■■■■
    Which ever one interest you.

Don't make decision based on short term situations, rather long term career focused goals.

JMHO
  • Options
    anhtran35anhtran35 Member Posts: 466
    Find another position either within the company or another company as a Network Administrator.
  • Options
    markulousmarkulous Member Posts: 2,394 ■■■■■■■■□□
    If you like Networking more than Windows, then go with Cisco certs. Honestly, I'd avoid CCNA: S unless you plan on fully going down the security tree and plan on going into the infosec field. I think I'd rather go with a CCNP. Reason is I don't feel I learned a ton with the Security cert that I didn't already know with the CCNA and Security+. And in reality, knowing what you are protecting is more important than learning how to protect it.