CCNP Switch : Advice for using MST?

Node ManNode Man Member Posts: 668 ■■■□□□□□□□
Hi Everyone,
I am studying for CCNP Switch. I can initially set up MST just fine. At least good enough for the exam. However, my lab has grown to almost a production environment, it has 7 switches, including 1 as a management switch.

My problem is once I get MST installed and stable, I bump offline all switches when I make an Instance change. So my question is: How do I avoid dropping switches when I make MST changes?

Thanks!

Comments

• theodoxatheodoxa Member Posts: 1,340 ■■■■□□□□□□
    VTPv3

It's not on the current SWITCH exam (it is on the new 300 series exam) as far as I know, but VTPv3 can carry VLANs, Private VLANs, and MST Instances. It's really cool. In my lab, I configured VTPv3 on all 4 switches, then created a couple of MST Instances on the "VTPv3 Primary Server" and almost immediately, the instances were on all 4 switches.
    R&S: CCENT CCNA CCNP CCIE [ ]
    Security: CCNA [ ]
    Virtualization: VCA-DCV [ ]
  • RouteMyPacketRouteMyPacket Member Posts: 1,104
    I wouldn't worry too much about MST, you won't run into it in Enterprise environments most likely. I only know of one Enterprise that is using it and that is because the Engineer came from a Service Provider and simply knows no different, I would hate to be the Engineer coming in behind him once he is gone.
    Modularity and Design Simplicity:

Think of the 2:00 a.m. test—if you were awakened in the
    middle of the night because of a network problem and had to figure out the
    traffic flows in your network while you were half asleep, could you do it?
  • Node ManNode Man Member Posts: 668 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Thanks Guys, so VTPv3 is the solution? Frankly I am getting tired of crashing my lab when I make an instance change. I look forward to getting back to a more humane STP.
  • RouteMyPacketRouteMyPacket Member Posts: 1,104
    Node Man wrote: »