Options

How to follow your passion? ( To much to learn? not enough time! )

ally_ukally_uk Member Posts: 1,145 ■■■■□□□□□□
Howdy folks how are you all doing, I am writing this as I need some career advice / kick up the backside. See I have this desire to oneday become a Linux administrator or to work in he IT industry doing something Linux orientated.

Let me give you a bit of background about myself I have over 8 years experience working in IT mainly technical / support roles ( windows based). I am currently unemployed had a petty rubbish year I lost my best freind who sadly passed away he used to work at my former company and I couldn't carry on there anymore ( knew him since I was 5)

I have taken time out to reassess things and my true passion is to work with Linux. I have dabbled with it for a couple of years, am comfortable working at the command line and setting up services / securing and using stuff like vim. But I wan't to take my knowledge to the next level and to build a more solid grounding so I have outlined the following things to learn.

Linux+
Linux command Line / William Shotts
RHCSA
Puppet

My main concern is how the hell does anybody retain and learn all this information I looked at puppet briefly and became disheartened I know nothing about ruby am not a programmer, Has anybody become a Linux Admin with no knowledge what are your tips for getting there?

I was thinking the above goals and breaking everything down into chunks watching a couple of cbts everyday and labbing making notes.
Microsoft's strategy to conquer the I.T industry

" Embrace, evolve, extinguish "

Comments

• Options
    philz1982philz1982 Member Posts: 978
    I did a chapter of the linux bible every morning in 45 days I had a very solid understanding of nix.
  • Options
    fuz1onfuz1on Member Posts: 961 ■■■■□□□□□□
    with hybrid devops roles becoming the norm, the lines of differentiation between administration and programming has really become more blurred.