OSI model and TCP/IP

moparbobmoparbob Member Posts: 19 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hey guys I am studying for CCENT and having a hard time understanding the OSI model and TCP/IP. Understand some of it like the Application layer(using Chrome, Firefox, outlook)

The Presentation layer (.jpg, .gif, mp3..... )

Session layer - making connections and stuff

Physical layer - cables and such

It just the books and everything kind of confuse it for me ....lol icon_redface.gif

Comments

• gorebrushgorebrush Member Posts: 2,743 ■■■■■■■□□□
    This is a very good question. Confusing at first though admittedly. Basically, you can think of your web browser as a layer 7 application. When you make a request for a website, you typing in an address, lets pretend Google. At layer 7 your browser takes your request for the website, and it progresses down the OSI model (it is conceptual though, so the OSI model isn't a literal model), but as it progresses down, you get to say, layer 4 - which is where TCP lives, HTTP requests are port 80, layer 3 would be the IP address where the destination server is - Layer 2 would be the MAC address of your router where the packets initially leave your network, and of course layer 1 is the physical serialisation of the packets onto the media that your network is connected it.

As your request progresses down the model conceptually, it is being built into actual data that is sent across the network, so an IP packet at layer 3 with the TCP data at Layer 4 and above is encapsulated at Ethernet (Layer 2) and then serialised onto whatever your physical medium is (Layer 1)

So if you are using a DSL connection - this operates in a different manner at Layer 1 to say a Dial up connection (for the sake of comparison) but the principle is exactly the same.