Options

Getting a job in the I.T. field

XaymacaXaymaca Member Posts: 6 ■□□□□□□□□□
Well I have a little personal experience as a programmer. I am by no means an expert, I just like to dabble on my own. I also have some networking and troubleshooting experience at my current job (which I have been doing for five years), but that is no my main focus there (I work at a pharmacy as a pharmacy tech). My degree is not in an I.T. related field. I don't know what to do to get into the I.T. field, because I am getting older (29 yrs old) and trying to get to the point where I can actually support a family (plan on this in the very near future God's willing). I was going to go back to school to either take some networking courses and get an Associates degree in Network Technologies or get a Masters in Information Technology. I have a Network+ book, but haven't registered for the test, and I wanted to also get my A+. My biggest problem though right now is the real world experience since I need a job for that, but they won't hire me, because I don't have that experience. I am looking for advice on Networking and/or Programming.

Comments

• Options
    ccnpninjaccnpninja Member Posts: 1,010 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Welcome to the world of IT! You made a great move. It's a huge and rewarding industry.
    Don't worry about your bagkround. I know a few very successful network engineers who have mechanics or arts background. All that matters is how motivated you are to dive in.
    A+ is a good start to play with computers. Then, take the Network+ route. It covers the basics. If you can afford to go to Cisco Academy nearby, I strongly recommend it.
    Afterwards, you need to put consistent effort and study time. :)
  • Options
    MeanDrunkR2D2MeanDrunkR2D2 Member Posts: 899 ■■■■■□□□□□