Options

CompTIA A+ certiified finally, some advices

PehaPeha Registered Users Posts: 1 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi there!

Finally passed 801 and 802 exams few days ago with good scores, 801 - 827/900, 802 - 851/900. I used this forum for few weeks and gathered advices, tips, resources, good and bad results and I wanna share some of my advices with you.

My background: Always loved computers since a was a kid, been a IT Equipment Salesman for few years and finally got a chance last year to prove myself as a real IT Technician in a excellent company. I started learning as soon as i got employed because certs matter for you and your employer. Now I can see that i lost a lotta time learning because I was too nervous to register for exams and I wanted to make sure that everything is gonna be alright and that I will pass from the first try (because this is my first real cert).

My few advices / tips / resources:

1. Mike Meyers book and Darril Gibson starting kit are well written books for newbies and for people that already know something, use them, I would say that Mike Meyers book is a little more complex and pretty much everything is deeply explained (sometimes a little to deep if you ask me :D)

2. Make notes (i didn't at the start and now i feel sorry because i lost a lot of time because of that)

3. Use Pearson Exam Cram Book (5th and 6th edition), I gotta say that questions in those books are harder than the real exam and if you can manage those questions then you are aaaaalrright

4. Practice with VCE (but don't rely on those questions / answers, know your stuff for real and you will not have problems)

5. If you are newbie and gotta a lot of time and don't have real experience watch CBT Nuggets, otherwise watch Messer videos (they are short and sweet), don't get me wrong, CBT Nuggets are excellent but i would say that they are mainly directed to people with no experience, if you have experience and knowledge you will lose your time on them