Options

CCNA worth going for

mweaver84mweaver84 Member Posts: 44 ■■■□□□□□□□
So I'm just starting out on working my Network Security Certs. Have my CCENT scheduled in a month. I was wondering if the CCNA RS is worth getting or should I just skip it and just get the CCNA Security?

Comments

• Options
    JasminLandryJasminLandry Member Posts: 601 ■■■□□□□□□□
    I believe you should get CCNA: R&S before going for CCNA:Sec. You'll have a better understanding of networking before going into deeper concepts.
  • Options
    OfWolfAndManOfWolfAndMan Member Posts: 923 ■■■■□□□□□□
    It depends on what subcategory of networking interests you. Routing and Switching? Security? Data Center? Collaboration? While R&S is the cornerstone of making these other topics possible, it is just one option. If you could explain in explicit detail what you'd want to do in networking, could you do it? If so, that tells you exactly which one you should pursue.
    :study:Reading: Lab Books, Ansible Documentation, Python Cookbook 2018 Goals: More Ansible/Python work for Automation, IPSpace Automation Course [X], Build Jenkins Framework for Network Automation []
  • Options
    I definitely want to focus on Security. Seems like I see alot of people with the R&S and Security which is why I was curious.

Other certs I plan on going for after CCNA Sec are: Security+, CEH, CSSP, CISSP (thinking in that order too)

Debating if I should put CCNP:Sec in there somewhere not sure where atm though. Thats just my down the road plan though :) Definitely have plenty of time to think about that.
  • Options
    theodoxatheodoxa Member Posts: 1,340 ■■■■□□□□□□
    mweaver84 wrote: »
    I definitely want to focus on Security. Seems like I see alot of people with the R&S and Security which is why I was curious.