Options

First job in IT sector (computer security)

ChildInTimeChildInTime Member Posts: 19 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello everyone.Currently I am finishing my master degree in computer security. I am 25, and never had a job in IT sector, but I had few other jobs. I am looking for advice on what kind of job should I aim for. I am interested in security, but I am not good at anything particular. It seems that I know little bit of everything but nothing particularly well. Same with programming and networking, I know some of that, but I am not a good programmer, so I am not sure if I can go to positions for programming. Obviously I don't expect good position and salary immediately, I don't really care about that now, I just want to get job somewhere in IT field and then improve myself in security field. Now you probably thinking that I should get some certificates and I'll do that after I finish my master, but in the meantime I want a job in IT sector.I am not even sure what to write in my resume, because if for instance I write that I can program in Python and I know networking, they probably expect that I am really good at it, or not?

Comments

• Options
    anhtran35anhtran35 Member Posts: 466
    Seek out your University IT department and intern ASAP.
  • Options
    anhtran35 wrote: »
    Seek out your University IT department and intern ASAP.

Will try that, any other ideas?

P.s. is it a good idea to put skills in resume this way:

Skills
    Security: ethical hacking, network security, wireless security, cryptography
    Programming: Python, C
    Miscellaneous: Ubuntu, Kali Linux, MySQL
  • Options
    Will try that, any other ideas?

P.s. is it a good idea to put skills in resume this way:

Skills
    Security: ethical hacking, network security, wireless security, cryptography
    Programming: Python, C
    Miscellaneous: Ubuntu, Kali Linux, MySQL