Options

Need resume pointers with regard to objectives and non-professional experience.

jaycrewzjaycrewz Member Posts: 51 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hey. (If too long, there's a TL;DR at the bottom in bold)

So if anyone takes a gander at my previous threads, Im a late 20s guy in the midst of a career change. I graduated from a business school a few years back with my BS, have had hard time finding decent work, and the jobs Ive had have really not worked for me. This caused me to reevaluate what I wanted to do with my life, and what I really had a passion for.

So I chose IT, as Ive always had a passion for tech. Only reason I didnt get tech education when I was younger was because I told myself "I dont wanna turn my hobbies into a job". But as I got older and wiser, I realized the age old saying "if you love what you do, you wont work a day in your life". So I did my research, decided to get my A+ so I could at least get my foot in the door, and started networking with people I already know, and tech people I didnt know yet.

Anyways, I passed the first A+ exam, and have the second one this coming week. Now Im editing my resume and wondering about what to alter. Currently I list simply my education, and job experience. I have no tech job experience, so Im wondering if I should put my personal experience down. Ive done custom builds for myself, friends, and family members since my mid teens, including hardware purchasing and installs of all internal PC components. Im good with software installs (OS, security programs, etc) and troubleshooting of both software and hardware (this includes remote desktop work and phone help when needed). And Ive used Windows XP and Windows 7 extensively through the years, as well as doing home networking configuration amongst multiple hosts (wiring, assigning static IPs, port forwarding, wifi setup...simple stuff).