Options

How to get into programming

CurchelCurchel Member Posts: 44 ■■□□□□□□□□
How does one get into programming...and get a good opening salary?

I have a BS in Mathematics and a MBA and i took some programming classes as an undergrad but that was over 10 years ago. Now i work an administrative job and i make about 60K but i am bored as heck. I wish i would have gotten into computer science.

I decided to start the BS in Software Development and see if I can finish in a year or a year 1/2 tops. I dont have my transcript evaluation yet so i can't be sure. Anyways is this the way to get my foot in the door (the extra BS)? Or how would you go about it? I am not a kid anymore so getting a very entry level job making $12/hour isn't an option for me. I want to change fields without losing to much money...

Advice???

I should add that i am currently studying java on my own before my term starts March 1st. I find i do remember quite a bit about general programming concepts so it's not so hard.

Comments

• Options
    ratbuddyratbuddy Member Posts: 665
    With a BS in math and some knowledge of coding, you could probably land a 50k+ job tomorrow. If you'd rather wait until you finish the degree, that's understandable, but it might not help all that much. Don't worry about making 12 bucks an hour. You'll make at least double that to start, and probably more. I'm making more than you (context: central CT area), and I only have 6 months experience in the field plus a WGU BSIT-Software.

The most important thing is knowing your stuff and knowing how to sell yourself.
  • Options
    That's encouraging. I'll start putting my resume out and see if anyone bites...
  • Options
    creamy_stewcreamy_stew Member Posts: 406 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Big Data is waiting uuuuuuu!

Seriously, though, Data Science is getting huge. If you learn R and brush up on some math stat, I'd say you're golden.

https://d396qusza40orc.cloudfront.net/rprog/doc/JHDSS_CourseDependencies.pdf