Options

Resume review request - Vet trying to get a new start in IT

thesourginthesourgin Member Posts: 5 ■□□□□□□□□□
Greetings all,

First, I want to thank everyone person who posts here. I've been lurking on the forums for a while, but just signed up for an account this month. Thanks to all of you, I have began my studies at WGU (Security path) in January and have finally taken my first steps in pursuing employment in the IT sector.

I just passed my second A+ exam this week and am hoping to find some employment in the IT field while I continue my studies at WGU. I have plenty of personal experience. Unfortunately, I don't have any formal IT work experience. I served 8 years in the Army doing tactical communications, but most of my experience had to do with radio networks and a little bit of "IT Management" as I increased in rank.

I was hoping some of you experts out there could give me some help with my resume. I'd really like to find a Help Desk position, but even a PC Tech job (or Geek Squad) would give me some experience to advance my career.

Notes:
  • I'm not really confident about my summary, since I don't have any formal IT work experience to relate it to.
  • I didn't list my MTA or CIW certs, because they seem kind of worthless. If someone thinks otherwise, please let me know.
  • I listed certs first, then education, then experience, because I figured that's the order of precedence in how they were related to the position I'm seeking.
  • Go Hawks!
Resume

Comments

• Options
    NOC-NinjaNOC-Ninja Member Posts: 1,403
    Look for jobs here. https://www.clearancejobs.com/jobs/

Also, look for a US base close to your house. They usually prioritize vets when hiring IT employees.
    If your going for Sec, I recommend going for Security + and CCNA. These will get you in front for help desk or NOC positions.