Options

Post Security+ advice

noswaithnoswaith Member Posts: 8 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello All,
I am new to IT. Passed Network+ two weeks ago and now studying for Security+ with a test date at the end of March. I am a government contractor, so Network+/Security+ have been made mandatory by my employer. I am looking at Network administration jobs and wonder what is the next certification I should work towards? What will help me function best? Lots of theory now in my head, with little hands on experience.
Thanks in advance for any advice!

Comments

• Options
    battletuxbattletux Registered Users Posts: 1 ■□□□□□□□□□
    CCNA would be the next logical step if you want to be a network admin.
  • Options
    H3||scr3amH3||scr3am Member Posts: 564 ■■■■□□□□□□
    I'd round out the Comp TIAs with the A+, and then I'd see what the position exposes you to, as battletux said, perhaps CCENT/CCNA would be the way to go after that, or perhaps you'll need a CASP/CISSP for the security work, it depends on your job, technology exposure, and what positions are above you that you want to aim towards.
  • Options
    BlackBeretBlackBeret Member Posts: 683 ■■■■■□□□□□
    I know in our shop contractors on the help desk and network technicians all need some of the system specific certs, MCSA on help desk, vendor or LPI on the system techs. Security requires CEH for almost all functions. CISSP for more advanced functions like pentesting and assessments.

While having other certs are never bad, those are what you'll need to stay relevent in the contractor world. I honestly wouldn't waste the money on A+, and knowing what I know now about the contracts and DoD I would have gone straight to Sec+ and skipped Net+.
  • Options
    ProtoPrimeProtoPrime Member Posts: 8 ■□□□□□□□□□
    BlackBeret wrote: »