Options

Adding Lab knowledge to resume?

ecuadraecuadra Member Posts: 42 ■■□□□□□□□□
Anyone ever add lab knowledge or courses taken to their resume?

Example

Courses taken

Desktop Client Support
Help Desk Principles
Hardware and Software support
Cisco networking academy Networking Basics
Fundamentals of Security
CBT Nuggets Cisco CCENT video series
CBT Nuggets Cisco CCNA video series

Books read or maybe add video series here

Scaling Networks
Introduction to Networks
etc

Knowledge through School/Home Labs

Cisco 3560 switch and 2811 routers
Configure VLans
Configure INter vlan routing
Apply static routes
Configure Single-Area OSPF
Configure simple Access control lists
Configure DHCP on routers
Configure NAT on edge router
Configure Rapid PVST
Troubleshoot IPV4 issues

Install Windows server 2008 and 2012
Sysprep a reference computer using imagex
Crate and format hard drive using disk management

etc

I have no experience in IT other than what I do at home and school. I am trying to bridge the gap between people without experience but going to school/learning and people with experience but only dealing with daily processes. icon_study.gif

Comments

• Options
    gc8dc95gc8dc95 Member Posts: 206 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Actual courses, sure in this case I would. CBT's and such are not really courses, just overviews.

Labs shouldn't be on a resume, IMO, but you should bring them up in the interview to show that you are trying to learn.

I would get something like CompTIA / Cisco / MS certs or the like to get noticed a bit more.
  • Options
    markulousmarkulous Member Posts: 2,394 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Agreed with the above. A CCNA on your resume would basically say all of that and it'll be much more beneficial.
  • Options
    theitprotheitpro Member Posts: 37 ■■□□□□□□□□
    If you added Lab knowledge, I will laugh at you as your resume goes into the trash
  • Options
    AkaricloudAkaricloud Member Posts: 938