Options

Desktop Support vs Datacenter Technician

youssef350youssef350 Member Posts: 6 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi all,

I'm currently in a huge dilemma, I have been working for 4 months as a desktop support technician for a company. I work with AD, Exchange, Image laptops etc. I love this job and have no issues working for Help Desk. I recently received a job offer for one of the largest cloud computing companies to work for one of their Data centers. The job description is Data center tech deployment team so basically I will be deploying hosts and wiring up their switches with fiber, maybe some configurations work. My question is would I be taking a step back or would this experience be valuable for someone trying to move up in the I.T world. The Data center job pays alot more but money is not my main concern. Any advice/info would be greatly appreciated.

Comments

• Options
    JoJoCal19JoJoCal19 Mod Posts: 2,835 Mod
    Data Center stuff is huge right now and at least in my opinion, a huge step up from Help Desk. Get the experience there, knock out VMware certs such as VCP and VCAP once you have the experience and you'll be set.
    Have: CISSP, CISM, CISA, CRISC, eJPT, GCIA, GSEC, CCSP, CCSK, AWS CSAA, AWS CCP, OCI Foundations Associate, ITIL-F, MS Cyber Security - USF, BSBA - UF, MSISA - WGU
    Currently Working On: Python, OSCP Prep
    Next Up:​ OSCP
    Studying:​ Code Academy (Python), Bash Scripting, Virtual Hacking Lab Coursework
  • Options
    Thanks for the reply, I don't think I will be working with VMs alot, but your advice was extremely helpful I was already thinking of getting those certifications
  • Options
    mweaver84mweaver84 Member Posts: 44 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Sounds like it would depend on where you want your career to go. Right now your working with AD and Exchange which is on the systems side. And the new opportunity sounds like it be more on the Networking side.

So do you want to be an Systems Admin or a Network Engineer?
  • Options