Options

MBA for Network Professionals ?

anuragaks10anuragaks10 Member Posts: 60 ■■□□□□□□□□
Dear all,

What are your views on pursuing M.B.A. as Network Professionals ?

If 'No', then why not ?
If 'Yes', then why and by what age or time-frame ?

My personal inclination is more towards M.Sc or Masters in IT or even an M.E.

Regards
A smooth sea never made a skilled sailor

Comments

• Options
    BurnsieBurnsie Member Posts: 84 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Why not do both?

UMUC offers a dual degree program:

Online Dual Master's Degree Programs | UMUC

B
  • Options
    Node ManNode Man Member Posts: 668 ■■■□□□□□□□
    I have an MBA and hopped ship from Operations/Analysis to IT. From my experience, IT recruiters might be impressed by an MBA, but it doesnt help them place you in an entry level IT position. It signifies more like a commitment to education and learning. Maybe an MBA might help out in a Sales-Engineering role, and I hear those people make a lot of money.

But really, my CCENT helped get me a job much more than the MBA did.
  • Options
    Thanks Burnsie but unfortunately I can't do that program (not in USA).
    Thanks Node Man and I do agree with you. MBA applying for a Network Engineer position doesn't really make sense. Maybe IT Manager/Project Manager or as you mentioned Pre-sales Engineers could benefit from it.

Would love to hear other people's opinions/experiences.

Regards
  • Options
    wgroomwgroom Member Posts: 147
    I hold an MBA, as I was looking to climb the government ladder years ago. Did it help me land my current position? No. Did it help boost the salary for my current position? ABSOLUTELY! Education is like a certification that never expires, and will be with you forever. Now as I am climbing the ladder in the corporate realm, it again is helping. Costly but worth it to me.
    Cisco VoIP Engineer I
    CCNA R&S COLOR=#008000]Complete[/COLOR CCNA Voice COLOR=#008000]Complete[/COLOR CCNA Collaboration [In Progress]
  • Options