Options

Questions about working tier 1 help desk

AusuriAusuri Registered Users Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
Just wondering what I should expect, I was just hired into a help desk job. I'm currently in training and the amount of learning material thrown at me is pretty overwhelming. I've never worked a CS or IT related job in my life so I'm starting from the ground up, though I was a few hours short of an associates in Computer Science from community college a few years ago. I have a few questions that probably vary depending on the employer, but I'll ask anyway:

1.) I'm a contractor (in less kind words, temp). The place is super corporate and strict. I'm guessing the possibility of getting hit with the fire-axe is high. Is that the case? Should I be ultra paranoid and watch my back on high alert?

2.) How soon am I expected to be "up to speed" when on the floor and handling everything in smooth manner? One month? One week? Six months?

3.) Some of the guys I talked to during training had been in tier one a long, long time. One guy had been there in tier one nine years. I'm confused because I thought the job was very entry level with the possibilities of moving up in IT. I've heard contradicting stories as to whether help desk was a good opportunity so this is probably a redundant. But, I guess the question is it even worth it? I'm willing to stay in help desk if the pain is worth the time.

I always have the opportunity to go back to my old job and get certs in my off time if that's a better approach than grinding help desk, but I just thought I would run these by.

Comments

• Options
    jamesleecolemanjamesleecoleman Member Posts: 1,899 ■■■■■□□□□□
    Learn as best as you can, it'll take some time. Set yourself up a goal and make a plan to get there. Don't get stuck in Tier 1 unless you wanna stay there.
    Booya!!
    WIP : | CISSP [2018] | CISA [2018] | CAPM [2018] | eCPPT [2018] | CRISC [2019] | TORFL (TRKI) B1 | Learning: | Russian | Farsi |