Options

need job transitioning advice

Techguru365Techguru365 Member Posts: 131 ■■■□□□□□□□
Would you guys leave a job as a data center technician for a help desk role?

I currently work as a data center tech and I was recently offered a job as a help desk tech. Here are the reasons why I am even contemplating this:
1.I currently travel 1:30mins each way to my present job. help desk commute would be about 15mins.
2.help desk would pay a couple thousand dollars more than I presently make.
3. The help desk would get me a secret clearance
I just dont want to make a career move that might come across as going backwards. Should I hold off for something like a sys admin type job or would this job still look ok on my resume in the future?

Comments

• Options
    N2ITN2IT Inactive Imported Users Posts: 7,483 ■■■■■■■■■■
    I think those 3 points are extremely valid. Just going off the info you presented, I would say yes I would.
  • Options
    mjnk77mjnk77 Member Posts: 164 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Things you need to consider, what is it you want to do? Don't take a job if you plan on leaving within a few months for something else. That could really hurt you down the road. But if you can advance rather quickly in this company into a position you would really like to do, then go for it. But if you are going to be stuck, and no possible future within the company, then I would say no. A few K more, secret clearance and short drive are definite perks, but NOC to HD is backwards, especially if you cannot grow within the company.

But again, figure out what it is you want to do. You don't want to burn a bridge with any company, especially one that could have the role you want and are right for in the future. Good luck!
  • Options
    N2ITN2IT Inactive Imported Users Posts: 7,483 ■■■■■■■■■■
    Let's not over sell the NOC, that's silly. It really is 6 in one hand, half dozen in the other. Blank statements like these will get you in trouble.