Options

Critique LinkedIn?

Networking_StudentNetworking_Student Member Posts: 55 ■■□□□□□□□□
Anyone have advice for how I can better advertise myself on linkedin?
http://www.linkedin.com/in/garrettbleonard

Any feedback would be appreciated. I am a student now, and I do have experience setting up Routers, Switches, and star, and bus topologies. As well as TCP/IP and MAC Addressing.

Full experience building and troubleshooting desktop hardware and software. Experience with VMWare, Virtual Box, and a large assortment of Linux Operating Systems and Linux Servers.

I've set up and maintained servers with up to 20 users and 35 devices.
Working on my MCSD: Windows Store Apps
WGU-Software Development Student

Comments

• Options
    LeBrokeLeBroke Member Posts: 490 ■■■■□□□□□□
    I'm fairly new at LinkedIn stuff myself, but I'd change a few things:

- take out MCT from your title. It's tacky unless you're an MD/PhD. I don't even like CISSP's doing it, but at least they can kinda get away with it. I wouldn't even consider it for a lower cert.

- your certs seem to be all over the place, even in the context of an automotive technician. Consider listing relevant ones with bullet points, and putting all the irrelevant ones in a single line as acronyms.

- lose "what I can do".

- add a quick intro, like "I'm a mechanic with X years experience in mechanics and technical writing. Currently switching careers to IT for X reasons and with X success." You have one, but I think it belongs near the top of your summary rather than the bottom. Move troubleshooting and the like to the top. Parts like "install, operate and perform maintenance" belong in your job history, not summary.

- I personally didn't include irrelevant experience (i.e. retail) at all on my LinkedIn, or even my resume. However, I wasn't applying much to support positions, if you are, I'd keep it since it's semi-relevant.
  • Options
    anhtran35anhtran35 Member Posts: 466