Options

Suggestions and Advice For Someone Considering the Security+ Certification

OwlindaOwlinda Registered Users Posts: 3 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello,

This is my first post here. I would like to ask experienced folks what they recommend in preparations for the Security+ exam?

I am someone who has worked in clinical software support and implementations for roughly 8 years after college. I have a bachelor's degree in Health Information Management & Systems. I do not have experience working in networking, server infrastructure, and information security but I have been exposed to it. I have picked up basic things "on the job" (enough to be dangerous) but I do not have real expertise. My position is being eliminated this fall (new software being implemented at my company so my legacy software is out the door). I would like to build up my skill set to change my career, and that requires more technical skills. I am working with the manager of information security here at my company. He is hoping he will have new openings on his team in the new fiscal year. He would prefer me to obtain my certifications in this order: Security+, Network+, A+.

Being completely new to this, I have researched and found this Security+ bundle off of CompTIA:

Would this bundle be sufficient for me to pass the exam, with my background?

Or should I work on getting the Network+ and A+ first?

Any suggestions and advice would be very much appreciated!

Comments

• Options
    ChinookChinook Member Posts: 206