Options

Bonus payment negotiation case

WittyDeveloperWittyDeveloper Registered Users Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
I'd like to have some opinion on this topic, preferably but not exclusive from some IT guys or those in leadership positions.

I work as a software developer and found a trick to boost speed in our application. We're talking 25 up to 210% speed gain globally on about 3 million lines of code. There are clients who run intensive computations and complain about hour-long bad performance. Implementic the trick took me 2 days, most of which was speed measurement.

I our latest talk my boss offered me a mediocre salary gain, but we agreed on a bonus payment in yet undetermined amount.

1.) How much do you think I can demand?

2.) If you have some expertise in this area, how much do you think would be the price for a speed-up like this on "the market"?

I kept it quite short, if you need any information, let me know.

For anyone who is interested, I switched from client to server JVM, which is fairly basic stuff but no one in my company knows about this.

Comments

• Options
    NetworkNewbNetworkNewb Member Posts: 3,298 ■■■■■■■■■□
    I'm confused, is that not what the company is paying you to do? work on their software... Sounds like a networking engineer going up to the IT manager and saying "I know how to speed up the network, but your going to have to pay me extra"
  • Options
    networker050184networker050184 Mod Posts: 11,962 Mod
    Have to agree with NetworkNew here. Exceeding expectations should net you some bonus, but probably not as big as what you're probably expecting. 10-20% seems about the average I've seen over my career for an over achiever.

Now, if you were a contractor brought in to specifically target a performance upgrade on this code you'd probably be making a pretty penny doing it. That is a completely different story though.
    An expert is a man who has made all the mistakes which can be made.
  • Options