Options

CCIE R&S Study Order

cwestmaccwestmac Member Posts: 24 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi all,

I am still a few months away from starting my journey towards the CCIE in R&S, however I am currently in the process of assembling my lab (which consists of an ESX server capable of running 20+ CSR1000V instances, and I will be ordering the 3560-24TS-S switches w/ 32MB of flash as soon as I can find a good deal) as well as gathering my study materials and determining a priority for my studies. I have a Safari subscription and will be gaining an INE AAP fairly soon.

I am looking for a logical approach regarding a starting point for my studies. I am studying for the written exam first, and I have my CCNP. I learn best while watching/listening, as well as hands-on, however I am committed to reading as well given how much material I have to learn.

As for materials, I am currently looking at:

- INE's ATC videos for v5
- INE's workbooks
- Routing TCP/IP Volume 1
- Routing TCP/IP Volume 2
- CCIE V5 OCG Volume 1
- CCIE V5 OCG Volume 2
- Internet Routing Architectures
- MPLS Fundamentals
- IPv6 Fundamentals
- Cisco QoS Exam Cert Guide
- Maybe a multicast book
- Others are undecided right now

At this point, I am mainly curious where I should *start* my studies, and when I should introduce the INE ATC videos into my study plan. Should I start reading the fundamental books with broad material coverage, such as Routing TCP/IP Volume 1 and Volume 2 first, then the OCG, then watch the ATC videos, then study the more "focused" books such as IRA, MPLS Fundamentals, IPV6 Fundamentels, etc., or should I start with the ATC videos and then read the books? Is there an ideal path that will allow for maximum absorption of information?

I know everyone is different; I am just looking for advice regarding whether I should be starting with the INE videos, or starting with fundamental books, based on the experience of folks who have gone before me. I have limited time to study so every minute is precious.