Options

Question about how to approach salary questions - My Scenario

I'm currently a systems engineer for a smaller MSP/ IT consulting firm in the midwest. I applied for a Systems Security Analyst position with a large medical clinic/ hospital group. I got a call from the manager and he set me up for an interview but actually told me he has a Senior Systems Security Analyst position that we would rather interview me for and to go ahead and apply for that before the interview.

The initial phone conversation went well and was very casual which was nice. In fact because it was so casual I didn't feel comfortable bringing up the topic of salary. I usually have no problem at all bringing this up because I'm usually called by someone in HR, recruiting, or an outside recruiter.

So I'm kind of going into the interview without any idea what type of salary is offered for this position but surely it will come up in the interview. What I'm worried about is if they ask me what my expected salary is (which I have one in mind) and that is lower than what the position pays then did I just screw myself out of some money?

Should I bring up the salary question before he has a chance to ask me?

Any advice is appreciated.

Comments

• Options
    OfWolfAndManOfWolfAndMan Member Posts: 923 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Don't even mention salary in the interview. If the question is posed, you'll have to mention something obviously, but don't bring it up unless necessary. Until an offer is made, talk about your interest in the position and within the company. You can negotiate once the offer is made.
    :study:Reading: Lab Books, Ansible Documentation, Python Cookbook 2018 Goals: More Ansible/Python work for Automation, IPSpace Automation Course [X], Build Jenkins Framework for Network Automation []
  • Options
    networker050184networker050184 Mod Posts: 11,962 Mod