Options

Picking 2010 vs 2013 Certification and the future

meestaplunkmeestaplunk Member Posts: 7 ■□□□□□□□□□
Background: Completed MCSA: 2012 and MCSA: Office 365. I have 6 years of experience in IT. I have worked with Exchange 2003/2007/2010/2013. I think I have average Exchange experience for this point in my career. I could build a new Exchange environment for an SMB without referencing TechNet. I'm familiar with the server roles, mail flow and basic policies. My experience is however limited to the SMB world, so I have not worked with complex DAG/CAS Array (for example) configurations in production. On the Office 365 side, I have completed many migrations to Exchange Online, mostly from on-premises/hosted Exchange environments. I was able to pass the MCSA: Office 365 without much study time.

Future: I've hit a difficult period of burnout in my career. After taking a break and then knocking out certs I am asking myself what my passions are. Exchange is a technology that excites me. Someone posted on this site that "Exchange separates the men from the boys". I like that statement. I want out of the SMB world, I want to run with the big dogs. I'm hungry for the mystique and challenge of "real" IT work. I figure an Exchange certification is a step in that direction.

I'm not decided yet, but leaning towards doing the Exchange 2010 track instead of Exchange 2013. My reasoning is that it seems the IT world is moving towards Office 365. In many cases I think it makes sense too. So the majority of new messaging projects will be Office 365, not deploying Exchange 2013. Next, from the production environments I work in that still have Exchange in house, it's all 2007/2010 (luckily we've migrated everyone off 2003 now). So it feels like I’m much more likely to be dealing with Exchange 2010 in production than 2013.