Options

Where should I expect to land in Information Security and how?

krucial85krucial85 Member Posts: 84 ■■■□□□□□□□
Hello everybody. I've recently joined this forum and thought I'd seek some help/advice once again. I am an Army officer and I retire next year in January. I've passed the Security+, SSCP and CISSP exams within the last 12 months. I have some experience in IT as I was in the System Engineering Development Program at EDS (1989-1991) and worked as a system administration and information security engineer for The Associates (1995-2001) until I got laid off and went back to the Army. I have an A.A.S. in Computer Science, B.A. in Latin American Studies and an Executive M.B.A. I've asked about the level of job that I can reasonably expect when going back into Information Security and a possible salary range but I'm not really sure about how to go about "getting in". I'm also not sure if I'm better suited at this point to go into management/GRC or pursue the technical avenue. I live in Texas and would like to work there or at least be based out of Texas.
"The way to succeed is never quit. That's it. But be really humble about it."

Comments

• Options
    lsud00dlsud00d Member Posts: 1,571
    There are tons of infosec jobs in Austin and San Antonio. Also, Dallas/Ft. Worth and Houston aren't too far away either.

What was the last time frame you worked in a professional capacity? What is the extent of your technical skills? What is the extent of your PM skills? Do you have active Secret/TS?

Most importantly, what do you like/want to do?

Your certs and degrees are very powerful for the field and on the surface I don't see any reason why you'd have any issues jumping into an infosec role, however my preceding questions will help gauge at what level you would enter as.
  • Options