Options

Next career step: servers or networking

La ChupacabraLa Chupacabra Member Posts: 14 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello All,

I’m 32 years old and for last 6-7 years I’ve been working in London as self-employed technician, fixing, installing and maintaining computers (in a nutshell) only for SOHO users. So in that field I have quite a lot of experience.
Because I’ve noticed that every year it's becoming more and more difficult to make a living by working as a freelancer technician, I decided to learn something new and find an employment in IT sector. Before I decide what I'm going to study I have some questions and would really appreciate any advice.

1.Servers vs Networking
Considering my age and my previous experience; what would be the best next step for me if Is would like to do some certification or degree? What sort of specialization would you recommend? I was thinking about either servers or networking. Can anyone advise me in which field:
- is higher demand for technicians these days?
- are better opportunities for developing career?
- I could count on better salary?
- Which one is more interesting?
- Which one is easier and quicker to learn (at least to get an entry level job)

2.Regarding servers
- is MSCA is a good starting point (I have almost none experience in servers)? Will I be able to find a job after passing this exam?
- Is it a good idea to start studying from Windows Server 2012 or shall I start from previous versions like Windows Server 2008?
- Can anyone recommend a good book\eBook\online tutorial\college or other material to learn from to prepare to exam?
I was thinking about doing 4-8 weeks course in college, but it cost £1000 (just training), £1400 with books or £1800 with books and with exams.
I don’t know if it’s worth it. Maybe it would be possible and way cheaper to prepare for exam by learning from eBook or online tutorial at home?

3.Regarding networking