Options

school question

Riesold71Riesold71 Member Posts: 9 ■□□□□□□□□□
I will be graduating at the end of the summer with my aas in computer networking. I am debating if i should transfer to another school and get my bachelors. I am a "non traditional" student and was lucky enough to have a wife that made enough to allow be to go back to school while only working part time in order to get this degree. She would be supportive of me continuing my education, but i am not sure it is worth it. I am somewhat worried about forgetting allot of what i have learned so far because i have no experience in the it field and also the job market in this area is pretty good, and it is a good time to be graduating and looking for a job. I am looking at a few schools around here such as regis university and csu global. I will say that if i stop school now i may not start again unless i was lucky enough to find an employer willing to help with school costs. I have also thought that maybe i could get a full time job and then try and continue school on a part time basis. Any ways i know i am rambling on but its a tough decision to make, and any advice would be appreciated.

Comments

• Options
    RHDS2KRHDS2K Member Posts: 41 ■■□□□□□□□□
    I work full-time during the day and I am in an accelerated program that is 1 night a week from 6pm-10pm for my bachelors. Degrees are great, but mean nothing without experience. I'd continue school part time and get an entry level job right away when you have your AAS. As long as you get a job with a decent sized company there's a decent shot of them paying for your schooling. Most good paying jobs want to see several years of relative experience, so i'd want to start racking that up ASAP. Otherwise you're stuck with huge loans from a bachelor's degree and a low paying entry level job when you're all set and done.
  • Options