Root port election: how does it really work?

daan5000daan5000 Member Posts: 34 ■■■□□□□□□□
Hi there,

I'm studying for my CCNA-certification but I'm really stuck at the STP-topic. I'm using multiple sources to study (Cisco press books, CBTNuggets, Google,...) but they all give different explanations on how the root port is elected. To be specific: how port priority and port number influences the election process.

3 different explanations:

CBTNuggets:
  • If a switch has 2 ports to the root bridge each with different path costs: port with the lowest path cost is root port.
  • If a switch has 2 ports to the root bridge with equal path costs: the port connected to the switch with the lowest Bridge ID, is the root port.
  • If a switch has 2 ports to the root bridge with equal path cost AND both ports are directly connected to the same switch: port with the lowest Port Number, is the root port.
Cisco Press books (LAN Switching and Wireless by Wayne Lewis):
  • If a switch has 2 ports to the root bridge each with different path costs: port with the lowest path cost is root port.
  • If a switch has 2 ports to the root bridge with equal path costs: the port with the lowest port priority is the root port.
  • If a switch has 2 ports to the root bridge with equal path costs AND PORT PRIORITY are the same: port with the lowest Port Number, is the root port.
Omnisecu.com
  • If a switch has 2 ports to the root bridge with equal path costs: the port connected to the switch with the lowest Bridge ID, is the root port.
  • If a switch has 2 ports to the root bridge with equal path costs AND both ports are directly connected to the SAME SWITCH: port with the lowest port priority is the root port.
  • If a switch has 2 ports to the root bridge with equal path costs AND both ports are directly connected to the SAME SWITCH and have the SAME PORT PRIORITY: port with the lowest port number is the root port.