Options

Lab for 70-685

mmesor226mmesor226 Registered Users Posts: 1 ■□□□□□□□□□
I finally decided to start earning certifications. I've worked in a level 1 Help Desk role for a year now (although before I worked in assistance with the Help Desk at the same company for about 3 years).

I have little network/server knowledge or experience, so I figured MCSA Windows 7 would be a good first step.

I passed the 70-680 last week (2/26!) by studying guides and watching Professor Messer's videos. I read part of the Microsoft Press book but mostly used it to follow-up on things I was not certain on.

I intend to fully go through the 70-685 MS Press book and any study guides out there, but I'm worried I won't get enough practical experience. I do have my job, but it feels like the experience I've gained in my role is very focused and not challenging me much any more.

However, I don't make a lot of money, and I don't have access to much in the way of resources at work. I paid for the exams myself.

Is there a cheap (and legal!) way of setting up a lab? I feel like it would also give me Windows Server experience for going into a System Admin or Network Admin role next.

I'm sorry if this has been asked and answered. I tried a quick search but not a whole lot of luck. I've seen posts about going on Ebay for old servers and using Virtualization. That sounds great, but I'm baffled about licensing issues or the kind of logistics issues it would cause in my small, shared apartment home network.

Thanks in advance for your help!

Comments

• Options
    ScrawnyRonnieScrawnyRonnie Member Posts: 112