[Needs Career Advice] To Resign w/o first securing a job or To resign when ..........

CaptainLCaptainL Member Posts: 78 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hi All,

I would like to ask some career advice especially to those people who have a lot of experienced in the Networking industry. First, I would give a little background of myself.
  • I'm a graduate of Electronics and Communications Engineering (ECE, Yes, electronics and communications joined together in one degree)
  • After graduating in 2013, I passed my CCNA(old). I also took a licensure exam for ECE but unfortunately failed
  • In 2014, I have a job as a Software Tester in a MNC, I have a contract there for a year, and in one month the contract will end
  • I don't like Software Testing its too boring for me (this is just a personal preference)
Now, as my contract nearing its end. I would like to continue my career in networking but I'm confused if It will be wise to resign to my company right after my contract ends without a job after that or it would be wiser to look for a networking job before my contract ends to secure a job?

I'm leaning on the decision to resign as my contract ends and while I'm looking for a networking job I will use all of my free time studying in depth networking. I'm thinking of doing that because I can't study much while I'm currently working here in my current company as a software tester as the job itself demands a lot of time.

Also, would that 1 year experience in software testing have a weight when applying for a networking job? I know both field are different but having already experienced what is like to work in a big company counts?

Comments

• anhtran35anhtran35 Member Posts: 466
    You SHOULD NOT re-sign. Once the contract ends you can collect UNEMPLOYMENT; however, you should start looking for a new job ASAP. Your job experience doesn't apply to Networking. You do have a CCNA which should be good enough to get you a Network Administrator or NOC position.