Options

Need Advice - Fresh College Graduate

rolando3321rolando3321 Member Posts: 36 ■■□□□□□□□□
My current situation is that I just finished my BS in Technology Management. I'm not looking for a career in management, but I wanted to get my bachelors in a computer science field. My degree is from Eastern Michigan University.

I currently have a few certifications because I was told it would help me out. It seems to be a catch 22 because I don't have much client/server experience. I worked for a local computer repair store for nearly three years doing computer repair, virus removal ect. I also worked part time for a year at my local school district when they had a bond pass. They added all new computers, added smart boards, projectors, among other technology. I helped train teachers on the new equipment and did some imaging with Norton ghost, installed network printers and other various task. I never master any task so I find it hard to say I have solid experience in the client/server environment. I also did some tickets towards the end but the work involved going to school to solve the issue, no remote support. This was also a Novell/DeepFreeze environment so I never got to work with Active Directory. The one thing I did learn, is that if I don't know how to do it---then Google it! -- I know I lack confidence but once i get in the grove of things I become quite confident and my work ethic is very good. It sometimes is hard to communicate that in a interview (when I happen to get one).