Options

Linux skills required for GSEC401 bootcamp

puckmungopuckmungo Registered Users Posts: 3 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi everyone, I've been a lurker around these parts but I figured now was the time to finally join the community as I'm throwing myself into IT education (long overdue).

I'm going to be taking the GSEC401 Security Essentials bootcamp in a week or so and there's a module for Linux.

Just wanted to ask, what level of Linux skill will I require? I'm pretty new to it and I'm worried that without some level of proficiency, I'll miss out on all the good stuff the instructor will go through. icon_sad.gif

I also need to setup a laptop for the course that will require Windows 7 and Kali Linux, but all I have at the moment is a 2014 Macbook Air with about 4GB of RAM. Will this be enough to run it all without too much problem?

Comments

• Options
    H3||scr3amH3||scr3am Member Posts: 564 ■■■■□□□□□□
    you should be able to virtualize both OSes on the airbook, but I'm not sure if linux will play nice with the wireless in the macbook air, you may want to look into that, I'm not sure if there is wireless workshop in that course/class, but make sure that everything functions in your Kali machine.

I haven't taken the GSEC course, and am jealous of you for doing so, once I find a company that will hire me and pay for such lavish training I will take full advantage of it :D Best of luck :D
  • Options
    5ekurity5ekurity Member Posts: 346 ■■■□□□□□□□
    The GSEC will walk you through Linux basics, so don't be too worried about that. It's all practical stuff and if you think about how it is similar / applicable to Windows systems, you won't have a problem. As far as your system goes, the RAM is the only bottleneck I can see.
  • Options
    fuz1onfuz1on Member Posts: 961 ■■■■□□□□□□
    It's really essential to security theory to understand how Linux/Unix-based variants differ from Win in regards to how they deal with memory allocation - buffer overflows.