Options

Desktop support vs Service Desk

mintumintu Registered Users Posts: 5 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi All!

I graduated last year and now looking for jobs in IT. Would like start with either desktop support or service desk.
But I would like to know the pro and cons of these two before I start applying.

Below I have listed some, but please feel free to add more.

Desktop Support +
*Possible to advance to sysadmin or network enginner
*You are not stuck at your desk
*High chance to work hands on with servers and network equipment

Desktop Support -
*Always be happy and nice to users, even when you feel like crap
*Crawl under desks (read about this in another thread here)
*Users who is interrupting your work

Service Desk +
*You can advance to Teamleader, secondline or thirdline support
*Do not have to interact with users besides the calls

Service Desk -
*Stuck at the desk
*Many calls make you mentally exhausted

Anything else to add?

Comments

• Options
    tahjzhuantahjzhuan Member Posts: 288 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Our LAN admins travel. Sometimes it's fun, sometimes not. They are also part of a 24/7 on call rotation.
  • Options
    NetworkNewbNetworkNewb Member Posts: 3,298 ■■■■■■■■■□
    At most companies Desktop Support and Service Desk mean the exact same position. Don't get hung up on titles and think they mean what you think they do.

Unless you are working a very large corporation, then there will be a separate desktop support that handles specifically hardware. Otherwise you can bunch those plus and minus categories together.

There really isn't much of point to make a pros and cons list anyway icon_razz.gif Help Desk is pretty much something almost everyone has to do get their feet wet in IT. The trick is just to work hard improving and not staying there very long.
  • Options
    LexluetharLexluethar Member Posts: 516
    Depends on the company and industry. The title varies depending on the person in charge of the department.