Options

Home Office | Computer Lab Suggestions - for an beginner IT Security Worker?

bkhayesbkhayes Member Posts: 39 ■■■□□□□□□□
Hello Everyone. i'm a beginner in IT Security (InfoSec). I have a Security + and a SANS GCIH certification.

i found these two photo online it's not mine but ...i'm thinking my home office | computer lab will look something like this in the future

3437659759_ec79f1a8bd.jpg
maxresdefault.jpg

and i fully believe that i need to build up my home office as a sort of computer lab with lots of various software | hardware to be able to experiment with technology and practice with different.

off the the top of my head. i need a a server, a MAC, two PCs, a linux OS, Windows, Windows Server, and i'm trying to get an idea of building up a 'batcave | batcomputer' type of environment -

what are some must haves that a IT Security Professional should have in his home office | computer lab.

Comments

• Options
    MTciscoguyMTciscoguy Member Posts: 552
    Well in my lab, I have 5 switches(2950) 5 routers(3x1841, 2x2503)5 computers 1 x windows 8.1 and 4 x windows 7, 2 servers Dell PE 1950, Dell PE 1850, Lenovo NAS 4 gig raid, both servers are running Windows 2008 R2 and I also have an older acer laptop I can plug into the network. My main Lab computer will boot XP, Windows 7 enterprise and Linux Ubuntu. and I am also running 12 com ports on it via com port expansion card, I can add another couple of com ports via a couple of USB to com port adapters. I will be adding a couple of layer 3 switches in the very near future and then I will be upgrading a couple of routers so I can do voice. It seems to be a never ending battle when it comes to purchasing equipment.
    Current Lab: 4 C2950 WS, 1 C2950G EI, 3 1841, 2 2503, Various Modules, Parts and Pieces. Dell Power Edge 1850, Dell Power Edge 1950.
  • Options
    gc8dc95gc8dc95 Member Posts: 206 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Depends on what you want. Here is what I have: