Options

Network engineer : CCNP or Masters in IT/or Computer Science (Next move?)

evarneyevarney Member Posts: 68 ■■■□□□□□□□
I'm looking for guidance, maybe some of you more senior network engineers can throw in your two cents.

I am a network admin/engineer with a heavy background in Cisco switching and a little routing. I have my CCNP : Switch completed and need the ROUTE and TSHOOT but am slightly burnt out on cisco exams in general. I've done other vendors and bought a bunch of network equipment to play with. I also volunteer my networking skills for a local non-profit.

My question is, I have literally been in school for 8-9 years since I graduated highschool and I got my Applied Science Associates in Networking Administration and Support and a Bachelors in Applied Science : Information Technology from A&M, but I just felt like I got the inferior education and the CS people walked away with more timeless knowledge. Maybe I am mistaken but..atleast they took Architecture, Calculus and the discrete math. All I did was the practical hands on stuff that seems to change every few years. Sure the basics of Linux/Unix and Networking really remain the same but with the future of computing I have to say Networking is going to not at all resemble what it did when I first took Cisco in Highschool. This field is going to get really interesting when quantom computing takes center stage in the next few decades. I know that sounds a bit far off, but we live in exponential times.

what should my next move be? Should I just finish up the CCNP and say to hell with school? I'd have to take TRIG, CAL, Discrete math and some other stuff to get the pre-reqs and I am thinking I'd like to do that, but who really cares about degrees these days?

I feel like school can be a great enviroment to keep me sharp but I just wonder if I will be getting my ROI.