Got a new job with super easy iview

jeremywatts2005jeremywatts2005 Member Posts: 347 ■■■■□□□□□□
I was really happy Tuesday when I got a job offer with more salary. I had to finally cave and accept the fact that my current position after 9 months is questionable at best. My new position is a 18 month contract and could go perm as early as 3 months in. I will be working as a security analyst doing web protection. I interviewed with about 10 different companies and have some I am waiting to hear back on. The position I got took one 30 min phone interview and that was it. I was given an offer and a start date. It was that easy for me to get a job and I make 5% more and have better benefits and get paid weekly. Could not turn it down.

What happened to make me leave my current position is something I thought I would never see in my career. In my current role I am a contractor who was on a 6 months to perm contract. Before the 6 months came they gave me a year extension to till the end of 2015. The understanding was that they would convert me after the 6 months because of budget. At 9 months now the entire department fell apart. Over 3/4 of the department has resigned including three that have expressed leaving. We had 30 people in the department and now have no one with more than a year in. People are leaving like crazy, managers are bailing everywhere and here I am a contractor.