Options

eLearnSecurity PTSv3 and eJPT

_nessie__nessie_ Member Posts: 39 ■■■□□□□□□□
Hi,
as there are not so much reviews ATM about this course and certification, though I could as well add one as I believe it deserves some attention.
I was a total noob on pentesting to be honest. Let's say I knew the basics of networking and stuff, but had no idea on how to use the "tools" properly.

I'd looked into the CEH, but then eLS came along and the reviews on the eCCPT proved eLS offered a better package than EC in this matter. So why bother a theory if you can go for the practice.
But as stated before, I was kind of new in this. So yes, I already had the CEH AIO and read that one through and even managed to learn something from it. But, I believed it to be rather expensive. Nevertheless, I did tag parts for future use, so I'm not saying it was totally lost.

Now I can compare at least the theory of CEH with the entry-level of eLS and guess what: PTSv3 is actually FUN to do. icon_cheers.gif
If you're that type of person that really likes to try things out and feel that childish thrill when it actually works out, then I believe PTSv3 is something for you. After all, I have a full-time job and a family and some more hobbies. Just saying that I couldn't stay for days behind a screen testing things out either.

That said, the level of enjoyment was probably due to the excellent slides and videos.
I went through all of them, tried everything out in the videos and made mindmap-sheets on every topic.
IMVHO eLS attacks the issue in a structured manner, although you might find out later on that you need to add some more for yourself. Guess that's absolutely normal.