Options

Which is more valuable if you already have a Bachelors Degree?

Bradd78Bradd78 Member Posts: 25 ■□□□□□□□□□
Which would you consider more valuable from a hiring standpoint? I have a Bachelors Degree in a nonrelated field (Criminal Justice). I have a total of about 12 IT certifications from multiple vendors, including CompTIA, Microsoft and Citrix. I'm currently in pursuit of MCSE Server 2012. In your opinion, would you pursue a bachelors In Information Systems or would the certification be worth more in the long run? I thought about going back to school, but I'm not sure if it's worth the money/effort at this point. What do you all think? Also, just as a side note, I am 36 years old with 10 years help desk tier 1 and 2 and currently I'm in a consultant/Project manager role. My dream job has always been as a system administrator. At this point, I'm not sure how to get there.
Bradd Edmondson
Microsoft Certified Professional
Certified Computer Support Technician CompTIA A+ 2006, MCDST & MCSA 2003, Network + ,MOUS Master, Security +

Comments

• Options
    anoeljranoeljr Member Posts: 278 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Since you already have a bachelors, I don't think you should waste time getting another one. Most times, all HR wants to see is a bachelors degree (doesn't really matter what field). You have several certifications that showcase your IT knowledge. I think the certification route will be more beneficial for you than getting another bachelors. If you do decide that you want to go back to school, I think you should go for a masters degree as that will be a better investment of your time and money.

I'm not sure about the system admin route as I don't have that much experience with it. Hopefully someone more experienced will chime in.
  • Options
    nsternster Member Posts: 231