Future of UNIX? Do I need to make a move?

RHELRHEL Member Posts: 195 ■■■□□□□□□□
Hey all -- upon graduating from undergrad about 5.5 years ago, I have been a UNIX systems administrator (over three large companies) supporting various flavors of *NIX. From AIX, Solaris, HP-UX, Red Hat, Tru64. After the first several years, I focused more on AIX/Red Hat, and am now managing an environment which is 95% AIX, with just a handful of Red Hat and Solaris servers.

The problem I'm seeing is that even the larger global organizations who love to hemorrhage money for expensive infrastructure are even moving toward Linux and away from UNIX. IBM has been very clear about their direction to support Linux on POWER hardware -- while sort of referring to AIX as a thing of the past that will still be developed.

My issue is that I have dedicated so much of my career this far supporting AIX. Sure, it'll definitely be around over the next decade or so, but I have the next 30-35 years to think about. At my last employer, I was on track for completing the RHCSA/RHCE certifications, though my current environment now has such a small Linux presence that it's difficult to justify sending me to Red Hat training instead of IBM.

My biggest fear is that I will have dedicated all of my experience toward a platform that will some day become extinct. Do I need to make a move? Should I be worried?

Career-wise, I think that I see myself moving more toward a UNIX/Linux based security architect/consultant type role... My thought is that I stay put where I am at -- I am happy, gainfully employed, and am fairly compensated; however, that I should be focusing my spare time on Red Hat and Security certs...

What do you guys think? Are my concerns legitimate?

Comments

• ExpectExpect Member Posts: 252 ■■■■□□□□□□
    The transition from UNIX to Linux should be really easy for you, I think you have nothing to be worried about.
  • VeritiesVerities Member Posts: 1,162