Options

ِadvise What next after MCSE?!!

2»

Comments

• Options
    philz1982philz1982 Member Posts: 978
    nster wrote: »
    Yea I agree that IT is a good place to be in right now and it is easier to live comfortably in IT than in many fields.

Still, people who have a philosophy similar to Phil's might prefer a 120K salary with a boring job than a 80K salary with a great job simply because of the way they view things. I think what I'm trying to say is that in practice, it really depends on the person. Some people's thresholds are simply much higher. If I were 40 yo and at the top of my game, but the IT market wasn't as good etc, I'd probably rather take a 75-80K job that's boring or meh, than a 55-60K that was awesome

Of curse, right now, since I am still learning, I would take a 29K job that teaches me a bunch over a 60K job that sucks and doesn't bring me towards my goals.

For a lot of people, living comfortably comparatively to others is simply not enough, and they have their own definition of what comfortable is

Lol boring job, have you looked at my LinkedIn profile. I have one of the most diverse jobs you'll probably ever see.

I'm sorry but I don't understand the work for x to be happy instead of working for x+ 50% and being unhappy. Why not find a way to make x+ 100% and still be happy?

I guess its a different mentality.

As for the professor salary question. Thats a whole nother story to un pack I'm slightly obsessive about learning and a professorship would allow me to do that. In the mean time its all about building up the dollars. I'm fiscally motivated probably why I am in an sales and not ops role.

We will just have to agree to disagree on motivations for work and pay.
  • Options
    discount81discount81 Member Posts: 213
    I think it depends on what city you live in as to what job constitutes a 6 figure salary.
    If you live in Alabama and make $50k a year you are probably better off than someone making $100k a year in New York.