Options

Studying 70-462 before 70-461

LearnedLearned Registered Users Posts: 4 ■□□□□□□□□□
What are your thoughts on studying and passing 70-462 prior to studying for 70-461 this way you learn how to setup and administer SQL before you begin to study querying?

I have zero experience with SQL. I plan to start off by watching the MTA Database videos on Pluralsight. Once I have a basic understanding I plan to read the T-SQL Fundamentals by Itzik. This should give me a baseline before I jump into the Microsoft Press Training Kit for 70-462. I am also considering the MeasureUp materials.

Any other suggestions?

Thank you in advance.

Comments

• Options
    burghard82burghard82 Member Posts: 10 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Learned-

Are you not going to take the 98-364? I have about 18 months experience with SQL and I found the 70-461 pretty difficult. Granted, I did not prepare nearly as much as I did for the 98-364 (which I probably didn't need to study as much for) but nonetheless I get your rationale. Have you taken any of the practice tests for the 70-462 via Measure Up or CBT and faired okay?
  • Options
    LearnedLearned Registered Users Posts: 4 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Burghard82 -

No, I am not planning to take the 98-364. My goal is to have my MCSA: SQL Server by the end of 2015.

The key is to learn the material which requires practice.
  • Options
    zaleonardzzaleonardz Member Posts: 61 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Do You have much Windows server Management experience. Things such as domains, Event Logs, Clustering, Performance Management , that sort of thing.

If so this is a slight edge on 462 70-461 is harder technically, especially if you have zero SQL experience, as a matter of fact, 70-461 is going to be a total ***** if you have no experience, but 70-462 I find actually had a lot more volume in terms of work to understand.