Options

Security Analyst Interview

MagnumOpusMagnumOpus Member Posts: 107
I will be interviewing for a Security Analyst position next week and I am way beyond nervous. I have 2 years of experience in the IT field, certs. completed via WGU and a strong interest in the field. But given I'm such a newb in the area of IT security, and a deep understanding of networking & security knowledge is lacking at the moment. I'm refreshing what I know, but I'm really sweating this interview right now.
This is definitely a first for me.

Comments

• Options
    RogueEnigmaRogueEnigma Member Posts: 15 ■■■□□□□□□□
    I see you have the Sec+ and Linux+. That is good. They will probably ask you some intro Linux questions (what command tails a log, etc). I would know packet level analysis. If you haven't already, download Wireshark and watch packets come in and analyze what the screen is saying. Break each packet down and be able to describe the payload, etc.

Know the OSI model and what each layer does. Know what layer the ping command is at, etc (that is a trick question they like to throw in :) )

I would also download Kali Linux onto a virtual machine just to play around. Look into NMAP commands and know how to do a basic port scan. Look into Nessus as well.

On the other side of the coin, check out Metasploit and other hacking tools.

I would also research some security websites and be familiar with some known malware and what it does.

They are probably looking for someone who is really into Comsec and willing to learn, so let them know that this is not a 9-5 mentality.

Above all, relax and enjoy the conversation.

Just my 2 cents
  • Options
    yzTyzT Member Posts: 365 ■■■□□□□□□□
    I have interviewed two times for that kind of position, and basically the only questions security related were: how to deal with a DDoS, how to check for SQLi and how to check for XSS.

The other questions were about Linux, networking, Windows protocols...
  • Options