What kind of Certifications do you need for entry level Networking Tech???

PaPaJPaPaJ Member Posts: 8 ■□□□□□□□□□
I am currently studying for my CCENT/CCNA and I was wondering what other Certifications I should get for an entry level position as a Network Technician?

Comments

• jerseyIT92jerseyIT92 Banned Posts: 93 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Complete ENTRY level would be the Net+. After the Net+ would be the CCENT, followed by CCNA. If you have more than 1 year of experience in networking, I wouldn't bother with the net+. If you do have more than 1 year of network experience, go straight to the CCENT.

This is the book I recommend for the CCENT/CCNA. It's pricey, but has both the ICDN1 and ICDN2.
    http://www.amazon.com/CCNA-Routing-Switching-Study-Guide/dp/1118749618/ref=pd_sim_b_2?ie=UTF8&refRID=1TC4TQKNMT1GFZY7AES3
  • IristheangelIristheangel Mod Posts: 4,133 Mod
    Network+ is alright. I think the exam is a bit price for your ROI but if you start to feel too overwhelmed by the CCENT material, I would at least recommend studying the Network+ material before heading into the CCENT/CCNA
    BS, MS, and CCIE #50931
    Blog: www.network-node.com
  • PC509PC509 Member Posts: 804 ■■■■■■□□□□
    Depends on your experience or knowledge level. CCENT has the basics plus a whole lot more. If you're just coming into the field and starting from step 1, then Net+ makes a lot of sense. It's a good foundation that will help you with the CCENT & CCNA. If you know the Net+ material already, and are doing good understanding the concepts of CCNET studies, go with CCENT. Net+ is very entry level, but it's a good start for someone with no experience. Aside from that, it's not too great. It's quickly outdated if you do get a job as a network tech.
  • nsternster Member Posts: 231
    If you are not overwhelmed with CCENT/CCNA, you can most definitively stay on that course and not worry about Net+. For entry level networking, those are really your only options