Options

Career path advice. Please help...

QPsycheQPsyche Member Posts: 7 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi everyone, I'm a university student who decided to pursue the career in IT field as opposed to my major. In particular I'm very interested in the IT security aspect and more particularly in pentesting (network/server/web app). I've been pursuing this path with passion and in the last month have finished Net+ and Sec+ as my foundation. I've been planning to tackle OSCP next, but I've been told that I may be offered a position as a test engineer should I be able to demonstrate appropriate skills, despite my lack of experience or degree (my relative is a senior software manager and is willing to recommend me).

I understand that this is an amazing opportunity to "set a foot in the door", but this means I would have to stop my studies for what I've been pursuing and start learning C/C++, Java, and other things like Lab View. So will accepting this ruin my hope for becoming a pentester? Or can this do nothing but help me get started and add to the "meat" of my resume in applying to become a pentester?
Again, I understand that this is a golden opportunity, but I'm scared that this may mean I'm stuck in the ream of software engineering as my career for a long time before it's possible to make a switch (if at all). The field of pentesting has fascinated me and it's the reason I've given up my academic career. I've been struggling to make a decision for nearly a week now and am desperate for an advice.

This definitely turned out to be longer than I intended. Thank you so much for everyone for reading it and I'd appreciate any wisdom by the community.

Comments

• Options
    TheFORCETheFORCE Member Posts: 2,297 ■■■■■■■■□□
    QPsyche wrote: »